Reading Resources

For Students:

Scholastic Kids’ Site:  http://www.scholastic.com/kids/stacks/

Kid’s Reads: http://www.kidsreads.com/

Giggle Poetry: http://www.gigglepoetry.com/

Storyline Online: http://www.storylineonline.net/

Lists of Series: http://www.kidsreads.com/series/index.asp

Book Trailers: http://www.inkthinktank.com/pages/video-gallery/index.html

Between the Lions: http://pbskids.org/lions/

Online Books with Sound: http://www.gamequarium.com/readquarium/bookswsound.html

Online Books without Sound: http://www.gamequarium.com/readquarium/bookswosound.html

Children’s Storybooks Online: http://www.magickeys.com/books/

Read Kiddo, Read: http://readkiddoread.com/home

Guys Read: http://guysread.com/

Starfall: http://www.starfall.com/

Free Children’s Stories: http://www.freechildrenstories.com/index.php

Johnny’s Story Page (Online/Interactive Stories): http://jstorypage.com/

Storynory (Audio Stories): http://storynory.com/

Newbery and Caldecott Award Winners: http://www.the-best-childrens-books.org/Award-Winning-Childrens-Books.html

Slime Kids: http://www.slimekids.com/

Mrs. P’s Magic Library: http://www.mrsp.com/Default.aspx

International Children’s Digital Library: http://en.childrenslibrary.org/

Wonderopolis: http://wonderopolis.org/

Chicken Spaghetti Book Blog: http://chickenspaghetti.typepad.com/

Reading A-Z: http://www.readinga-z.com/

Reading Works: http://www.readworks.org/

For Parents:

Dr. Seuss’ Parents’ Page: http://www.seussville.com/Parents/par_seuss_age.php

Reading Rockets: http://www.readingrockets.org/audience/parents/

Starfall: http://www.starfall.com/n/N-info/parents.htm

Children’s Books Online: The Rosetta Project: http://www.childrensbooksonline.org/index.htm

Reading Aloud: http://www.classical-childrens-books.com/benefits-of-reading-aloud.html

Book Lists: http://www.classical-childrens-books.com/index.html

The Best Children’s Books: http://www.the-best-childrens-books.org/index.html

Child Safety on the Information Highway: http://www.safekids.com/child-safety-on-the-information-highway/

Reading Series and Sequels: http://www.mymcpl.org/cfapps/juvser/title.cfm

Mrs. P’s Note to Parents: http://www.mrsp.com/NoteToParents.aspx

Story Cove: http://www.storycove.com/classroom/index.cfm?md=Content&sd=Error

“Helping Your Child Learn to Read” http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/eng/document/brochure/earlyreading/index.html

Celebrate Literacy Calendar: http://www.famlit.org/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/celebrate-literacy-calendar.pdf

Cultivating Readers: http://www.famlit.org/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/cultivating-readers.pdf

“Tips for Reading to Your Child” http://iusd.org/parent_resources/tipsreading.htm

Questions to Ask about Your Child’s Reading: http://iusd.org/parent_resources/questionsencourage.htm

10 Tips to Effective Reading: http://iusd.org/parent_resources/tentips.htm

Family Education: http://www.familyeducation.com/home/

PGTV (Primary Games TV) informational videos: http://www.primarygames.com/reading.htm

Great Kid Books Blog: http://greatkidbooks.blogspot.com/

MAGAZINES

Time for Kids: http://www.timeforkids.com/

Sports Illustrated for Kids: http://www.sikids.com/

National Geographic Kids: http://kids.nationalgeographic.com/kids/

Ranger Rick: http://www.nwf.org/Kids/Ranger-Rick.aspx

Discovery Girls: http://www.discoverygirls.com/

Weekly Reader: http://www.weeklyreader.com/

Boy’s Life: http://boyslife.org/

Fun for Kidz: http://funforkidzmagazines.com/

Odyssey Adventures in Science: http://www.odysseymagazine.com/

Dig the Archaeology Magazine: http://www.digonsite.com/

Stone Soup: http://www.stonesoup.com/


AUTHORS and ILLUSTRATORS

Seussville: http://www.seussville.com/

Shel Silverstein: http://www.shelsilverstein.com/indexSite.html

Avi: http://www.avi-writer.com/

Author/Illustrator Interviews: http://www.readingrockets.org/books/interviews/

Authors and Illustrators on the Web: http://people.ucalgary.ca/~dkbrown/authors.html

Authors and Illustrators: http://www.eduplace.com/kids/hmr/mtai/index.html

Jan Brett: http://www.janbrett.com/index.html

Eric Carle: http://www.eric-carle.com/

Dan Gutman: http://www.dangutman.com/

Robert Munsch: http://robertmunsch.com/

Magic Tree House: http://www.magictreehouse.com/#

Patricia Polacco: http://www.patriciapolacco.com/

Lemony Snicket: http://lemonysnicket.com/

 

WORDS, WORDS, WORDS

Fun Brain Vocab: http://www.funbrain.com/words.html

Vocabulary Games: http://www.vocabulary.co.il/

Merriam-Webster Word Central: http://www.wordcentral.com/

Merriam-Webster Dictionary/Thesaurus: http://www.merriam-webster.com/netdict.htm

Rhyming Dictionary: http://www.rhymezone.com/

Spin and Spell: http://www.spinandspell.com/

Vocabulary Games: http://www.learninggamesforkids.com/vocabulary_games.html

Spelling Games: http://www.learninggamesforkids.com/spelling_games.html

 

WRITING

Cursive Letter Animation: http://donnayoung.org/penmanship/cursive-animations.htm

Wacky Web Tales: http://www.eduplace.com/tales/

Grammar Games: http://www.mrsrenz.net/langartslinks.htm

Poetry Maker Online: http://ettcweb.lr.k12.nj.us/forms/newpoem.htm

Power Proofreading: http://www.eduplace.com/kids/hme/k_5/proofread/index.html

Grammar Games: http://www.mrsrenz.net/langartslinks.htm

Make Beliefs Comix: http://www.makebeliefscomix.com/Comix/

Launchpad: http://www.launchpadmag.com/

Grammar Practice Park (Gr 3-5): http://www.harcourtschool.com/menus/preview/harcourt_language/grammar_park.html

Words and Riddles: http://www.funenglishgames.com/funstuff.html


GAMES

Professor Garfield:  http://www.professorgarfield.com/pgf_home.html

Fun Brain: http://www.funbrain.com/brain/ReadingBrain/ReadingBrain.html

Reading Games from BiteSize: http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/ks2bitesize/english/reading/

Readquarium: http://www.gamequarium.com/readquarium/

Reading Planet: http://www.rif.org/kids/readingplanet.htm

Primary Games (Language Arts) http://www.primarygames.com/reading.htm

Knowledge Adventure: http://www.knowledgeadventure.com/reading-games.htm

Scholastic Writing Games: http://www.scholastic.com/kids/stacks/games/

Grammar Games: http://www.mrsrenz.net/langartslinks.htm

Paragraph Paramedics: http://www.mrnussbaum.com/paragraph.htm

Sentence Surgeons: http://www.mrnussbaum.com/surgeonsindex.htm

Character Scrapbook: http://teacher.scholastic.com/activities/scrapbook/